Astiga's new owner

13»

Comments

• Hi,

I have been (fruitlessly) searching for a solution to my family's music needs for some time. I realize that I may be more "advanced" in terms of requirements than most folks, due to the fact that I am a software engineer. Here's what I would love to see from the Bliss+Astiga marriage.

• I don't mind paying, I pay for AWS S3, Bliss and Astiga. I have a large investment in music over many years, I don't want to let it degrade. Paying for storage independent of Bliss/Astiga is nice, because I know exactly what I can do when I want to do it. Its mine :)
    • Keep control of my source of truth. I have my wife and my music on individual AWS S3 buckets
    • I peer/rsync those buckets locally to my Linux PC, I use Bliss to keep them neat (Bliss was also essential to clean up after a painful escape from Apple)
    • We buy music wherever, mostly Amazon, either CD or digital download, put the files in locally, run Bliss, upload to S3, sync Astiga.
    • We use Android Auto via Astiga app in the car, I love Astiga app because it does not assume I have some amazing 4G everywhere, I live where cell phone service is bad. Astiga App lets me setup my phone to only eat bandwidth when on WiFi, it lets me set unlimited cache size and preload when on Wifi. This is beyond essential. I want music in the car and my phone/car are parked at my house on Wifi enough hours of the day that I should never have to stream or think about fiddling with streaming.
    • I use a Brennan B2 as a music player in the house. I rsync the music to it (looks like a NAS).
    • I would love to see Astiga and the Brennan talk the same language, both have their own web interfaces, a simple bridge from Astiga to Brennan (it has an API) would let me use one app to control everywhere. I have contemplated writing this bridge, I can, but getting time with job and kids is tough.