Who am I?

KoenKoen Member, Former
edited June 2020 in General

You are probably more than an entry in a database; so why not introduce yourself? To give you an idea who's behind Astiga, I'll start 😉

My name is Koen van Hove; I am a software developer from the Netherlands, and back in 2017 I founded Astiga. In 2016 I signed up for TransIP's Stack, which back then offered 1TB free cloud storage, accessible via the web interface and WebDAV. One of the first thing I did was upload my music to there. After I uploaded everything, I looked into a way to play it back again on my own laptop and also on public computers. I found a surprising lack of ways to do so - there was no web app that would let me play back my music from WebDAV in a simple interface. So, I took matters into my own hands, and I created it myself. The first version was a project you had to host yourself, and whilst it worked, it still required you to host your own server. I thought that this was very inconvenient, and started thinking about a different approach. In 2017 I rewrote it from the ground up, made it a hosted service, added support for other cloud storage providers, and Astiga was born. For those wondering why I named it Astiga, and what it means: nothing. I looked for a word that would be pronounceable in most languages, but would not have an existing meaning.

Quickly after launching Astiga, I realised that I was not the only one looking for a music streaming platform for your own music. Since then, Astiga has grown, both in users, functionality, infrastructure and partners. This has provided some interesting challenges, many of which you did not see, because if you did, then something probably went wrong.